#### MARIN COUNTY COUNCIL OF MAYORS AND COUNCILMEMBERS *MINUTES* Wednesday, April 23, 2008 Deer Park Restaurant 367 Bolinas Road Fairfax, CA

# **Members Present**

Belvedere: ---Corte Madera: Carla Condon, John Dupar, Michael Lappert and Bob Ravasio Fairfax: Susan Brandborg, Mary Ann Maggiore, Lew Tremaine and David Weinsoff Larkspur: Ron Arlas, Larry Chu, Kathy Hartzell, Dan Hillmer and Joan Lundstrom Mill Valley: Garry Lion and Stephanie Moulton-Peters Novato: ---Ross: ---San Anselmo: Peter Breen, Ted Freeman, Judy House and Barbara Thornton San Rafael: Al Boro, Greg Brockbank, Barbara Heller and Cyr Miller Sausalito: Amy Belser and Jonathan Leone Tiburon: ---

Also present were the following City and Town Managers: David Bracken from Corte Madera, Debra Stutsman from San Anselmo, Jean Bonander from Larkspur, Adam Politzer from Sausalito, Michael Rock from Fairfax, and Ken Nordhoff from San Rafael.

Call to Order: President Larry Chu called the business meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

**Welcome and Introduction of Guests:** Mayor Mary Ann Maggiore provided a wonderful overview of the community and welcomed everyone to the Town of Fairfax, introduced the Fairfax Town Councilmembers and made the following introductions: Town Manager Michael Rock, Fire Chief Roger Meagor, Finance Director Ian Roth, Planning Director Ann Welsh, Building Official Mark Lockaby, Town Clerk Judy Anderson and Chief of Police Ken Hughes.

Other guests who were introduced: Marin County Administrator Matthew Hymel, Marin Builders Association General Manager Klif Knowles, Marin Builders Association Controller Sue Peterson, Candidate for Ross Valley Sanitary Agency Tom Gaffney, former Fairfax Town Manager Linda Christman and the evening's speaker Pamela Gibson, former city manager of the City of Sonoma.

Approval of Minutes: From the meeting held on March 26, 2008. Moved and seconded to approve the minutes. Motion passed.

### Announcement for Openings on Committees

President Chu announced that in June, we will hold elections for our primary and alternate representatives for Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) Executive Board. These posts are currently held by Carole Dillon Knutson and Shawn Marshall. These are two year terms that will expire in 2010. President Chu also announced that in June we will take nominations for the MCCMC executive committee positions of president and vice president. Anyone who has interest in these positions should submit a letter to the MCCMC secretary.

### **Election of Openings on Committees**

- a. Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) City Member. Two year term beginning in May 2008. M/S to reappoint Barbara Heller. All ayes. Motion passes.
- b. Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) Alternate member. Two year term beginning in May 2008. M/S to reappoint Carla Condon All ayes. Motion passes.

- c. Marin County Major Crimes Task Force Alternate. Two year term. No nominations. Position unfilled.
- d. Marin County Transit District Alternate. Two year term. M/S to appoint Madeline Kellner. All ayes. Motion passes.

# **Committee Reports**

- a. Legislative Committee - Barbara Heller summarized the recent Legislative Committee meeting held on April 14<sup>th</sup>. Committee members were urged to check with staff to make certain their public works departments were completing the necessary paperwork to receive funding pertaining to Proposition 1B Allocation of City Traffic Funds. Belvedere Town Manager George Rodericks will be contacting other Marin managers regarding this item. The application deadline for the first round of payments is April 30<sup>th</sup>. Legislative Lobbyist David Jones reported on the State budget and noted that Assembly Member Jared Huffman's Group Home Bill AB 2903 passed out of committee and is now in the Assembly Appropriation's Committee. The Legislative Committee moved to support AB 2935 (Huffman) and SB 1056 (Migden) related to toxic spill prevention and response. Also supported were SCR 87 (Migden) and AB 2765 (Huffman) relating to the Light Brown Apple Moth (LBAM). Senator Migden's resolution requesting that the Department of Food and Agriculture impose a moratorium on spraying did not make it out of committee, however Huffman's bill is continuing onward. It was requested that the MCCMC membership move to support Huffman's bill. M/S to support AB 2765. All ayes. Motion passes. A brief report on Legislative Action Days was provided. AB 98 and the corrective measure AB 99 were discussed. It was urged that all members pay close attention to these bills and that it be placed on the agenda of the May 13th Legislative Committee meeting.
- b. <u>Transportation Authority of Marin</u> Peter Breen reported on the construction project along southbound Highway 101 and the new Highway 580 overpass. He noted that the new temporary transition might be problematic, as the transition lane has been shortened requiring motorists to cross over two lanes very quickly in order to reach the 580 flyover off ramp.
- c. <u>Sonoma Marin Area Rail Transit (SMART)</u> Peter Breen reported that the supplemental environmental impact report (SEIR) is still out for review. Comments are due by April 24<sup>th</sup>. It is anticipated that the SEIR will be certified by late May or early June. That material will then go before the SMART board. A decision will then be made regarding the November 2008 ballot.
- d. <u>Association of Bay Area Governments</u> No report this evening.
- e. Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) Barbara Heller and Carla Condon provided an annual report on LAFCO. It was formed by State mandate in 1963. There is a LAFCO office in every county with the exception of San Francisco. In Marin, our commission is made up of two council members, two members of the board of supervisors, two representatives from special districts and one member from the county at large. The purpose of LAFCO is for completion of all sphere updates and to provide oversight of local government agencies including police, fire, public works and sanitary districts. The commission reviews numerous applications and proposals for boundary changes, annexations, reorganizations, consolidations or dissolutions of special districts all with the goal of providing services to the County more efficiently. LAFCO is overseen by executive officer Peter Banning. By law, LAFCO is funded one third each by cities, the county and special districts. The Marin LAFCO proposed budget for 2008-09 is \$389,498. Staff includes a full time executive officer, a 3/4-time clerk and a 3/4-time assistant planner.

### Public Comment: None

**Program**: Pamela Gibson former city manager for the City of Sonoma, winner of the 2006 League of California Cities Helen Putnam award for her work advocating small business development. The topic of Ms. Gibson's program was, *Small business growth in your town; unlocking some of the secrets.* After Ms. Gibson's presentation, she answered numerous questions from the audience.

Adjourn: 8:45 pm to the next meeting in Larkspur on May 28, 2008.

Submitted,

Bob Sinnott, Secretary-Treasurer