# MARIN COUNTY COUNCIL OF MAYORS AND COUNCILMEMBERS MINUTES

Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Hosted by the City of Sausalito Spinnaker Restaurant 100 Spinnaker Drive, Sausalito

#### MEMBERS PRESENT:

Corte Madera: Melissa Gill Fairfax: Susan Brandborg

Larkspur: Dan Hillmer, Joan Lundstrom

Mill Valley: Anne Solem, Shawn Marshall, Christopher Raker, Dick Swanson Novato: Carole Dillon-Knutson, Jean Macleamy, Judy Arnold, Jim Leland

San Anselmo: Barbara Thornton, Ted Freeman

San Rafael: Cyr Miller, Barbara Heller

Sausalito: Ron Albert, Michael Kelly, Paul Albritton, Dennis Scremin, Amy Belser

Tiburon: Alice Fredericks, Tom Gram, Jeff Slavitz

Absent: Belvedere, Ross

Also present were City and Town Managers Linda Kelly, Fairfax, Dana Whitson, Sausalito, Debra Stutsman, San Anselmo, Jean Bonander, Larkspur, Interim City Managers Anne Montgomery, Mill Valley, Ken Nordhoff, San Rafael, and Heidi Bigall, Tiburon.

CALL TO ORDER: President Melissa Gill called the business meeting to order at 7:10 p.m.

#### Welcome and Introduction of Guests:

Mayor Ronald Albert welcomed everyone to Sausalito and introduced fellow councilmembers and the following staff: City Manager Dana Whitson, Assistant to the City Manager Kevin Bryant, Police Chief Scott Paulin, Director of Public Works Tom Birse, City Librarian Mary Richardson, and Finance Director Louise Ho.

Other Guests: Margaret Jones, Patsy White and Judy Binsacca of the League of Women Voters, Klif Knowles, Terry Hennessey and Sue Peterson of Marin Builders Assn., Ken Kurtzig, Cynthia Kohler, Paul Helliker and Larry Russell of MMWD, Janet McBride of ABAG, Phil Kranenburg, Mary Wagner, Amy O'Gorman and Jim Wood.

## Approval of Minutes: May 24, 2006.

Moved and seconded to approve the minutes. Motion passed.

#### Change in Meeting Date -

Moved and seconded to change the Thursday, Dec. 7<sup>th</sup> meeting date to Wednesday, November 29, 2006. Tiburon will be the host city. There will be no meeting in December. Motion passed.

# **Appointment to ABAG Executive Committee**

Moved and seconded to re-appoint Carole Dillon-Knutson, delegate and Paul Cohen, Alternate to the ABAG Executive Committee. Term expires 6/30/08.

#### **Election of Officers for 2006-07**

President Gill announced that Alice Fredericks, current Vice President has been nominated for President. Larry Chu was nominated for Vice-President. There being no further nominations from the floor, nominations were closed. Alice Fredericks was declared President and Larry Chu was declared Vice President by acclamation.

Alice Fredericks then thanked Melissa Gill for her year of service as president and presented her with gifts.

# **Committee Reports**

a. <u>Legislative Committee</u> - Anne Solem announced that the joint committee with schools is continuing to meet even though there is no specific agenda pending. MCCMMC will have another joint meeting with schools representatives next year. She requested action to authorize the committee to follow legislation on telecommunications and provide oversight for the COUNCIL.

Moved and seconded to authorize the legislative committee to provide oversight on telecommunications legislation. Motion passed.

- b. <u>Transportation Authority of Marin</u> Alice Fredericks stated the Board has approved a policy for bicycle path maintenance that will be carried out with Measure A funds.
- c. <u>SMART</u> Peter Breen reported that the Board has released the final EIR and a meeting will be held in San Rafael to adopt it. The Richmond/San Rafael bridge will be resurfaced beginning in August; the project is expected to take one year.
- d. North Bay Division League of California Cities Amy O'Gorman spoke about the telecommunications bill AB2987. Between 75 and 100 city and county officials attended a meeting of the Senate Energy, Utilities and Communications Committee. Hearings have now been continued for further review. She thanked everyone for their efforts in opposing this bill. The State budget was adopted on June 27. It includes early repayment of Prop. 42 funds. Implementation of Prop 1A begins on July 1, 2006.
- e. <u>ABAG</u> Carole Dillon-Knutson noted that Bay Trail funds are now available. Eligibility requirements are flexible -- e.g., land does not have to be contiguous to Bay Trail.
- c. <u>Marin Telecommunications Agency</u> Barbara Thornton, newly elected chair of MTA, thanked Dan Hillmer for his work on the franchise agreement, recently signed by Comcast. The agency continues its work on the government, educational and public access programming. There is \$4 million to set up I-net and a media center.

**Public Open Time -** Jane Zimmerman, Marin Youth Institute gave a brief presentation about their program dealing with environmental and alcohol abuse issues. She expressed the hope that the "social host" ordinance would be adopted by the local governments, holding adults responsible for serving alcohol to teens in their homes.

## DINNER

PROGRAM: Paul Hawken, Environmentalist, Entrepreneur, Journalist and Author.

**ADJOURN:** President Alice Fredericks adjourned the meeting at 9:00 p.m. to the next meeting on September 27, 2006 in San Rafael.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Z. Here

Mary Herr

Secretary/Treasurer